top of page

2020: A year to remember

2020 started on a really high note for me. I was in the last semester of engineering, absolutely excited for what the future held for me. I had made so many plans to tick off my to-do list and resolutions to accomplish - and make 2020 "my year". Little did I know that a nanometer sized creature had the ability to disrupt all of that. Sounds very frustrating right? Initially even I thought so. It actually wasn't.


Like any final year student at VIT, I only had my project on hand so I spent a lot of my time with my friends, went on trips, attended concerts, had sleepovers and did every other thing a-not-so-busy-person would do. And suddenly one fine day in March, we were asked to rush home with a promise to be back in June. Perplexed, with a million questions about the project, viva and other college related stuff we retired to our homes with a hope to live the last few days of college life.


Home was therapeutic to begin the quarantine phase with but for a person who needs an activity no matter what it was a futile. Frustration, anxiety, depression and the feeling of worthlessness took over me. Eventhough, I had a thesis to complete I could feel that hollow. That's when I thought to myself; this pandemic is not in my control but my emotions are.



My world belongs to me!

Taking control of my emotions I realised how lucky I was to have everything I always took for granted- a loving family, friends who care, food to eat and a safe place to live in. I appreciated the importance of togetherness and the smallest of things I had. I noticed the ample time I had in hand and indulged in all those recreational activities which I had to give up on - I painted, danced, cooked, read and most importantly pushed myself to create this blog.




I gave myself a pat on the back for finally giving the review and graduating with flying colours. I bagged a place in one of the most prestigious colleges in the world. I introduced myself to the field of management, took up the path of self development and most importantly I learnt to appreciate what I have than to crib for what I don't.


I know for a fact that 2020 is not how I expected it to be; but the underlying truth is nothing can impact you negatively unless you do and trust me it's one of those years I'll cherish for it has given me so much time with my loved ones, it has given me time to rejuvenate myself and predominantly it has given me a lot of me-time.


“The secret of getting ahead is getting started.” – Mark Twain


I really hope we all come out safe of pandemic but I mainly hope this year does the best to us -if not professionally than personally because that depends on no one but you!

So let us all put up a beautiful smile over our faces and live up to our expectations through highs and lows.


 


“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.”

– Walt Disney.






bottom of page